Pat, you asked about my experience in journalism school. I was less politically sensitive in those days, but I really don’t recall detecting any of that kind of slant or sensationalism in what I was taught. However, three points seem relevant:

  • I attended J-school in the early 1990s. The problems you mention are not new, but I do think they have gotten much worse since then.
  • I was in grad school and narrowly focused on issues of media law; I had only a couple of undergraduate classes that taught the actual practice of journalism.
  • The only newswriting class I did take was taught by the legendary Jim Shumaker, an old-school newspaperman who learned the trade in the ’40s and ’50s. He understood what actual journalism was. But there probably aren’t any of his breed left in academia.
