I was intrigued by the headline: Huge Mountain Range Should Not Be There. (I swear I didn’t put it there. I’m very careful about where I leave mountain ranges.)

But when I looked at the actual LiveScience.com article, I began to worry. The mysterious mountain range in question is in Antarctica, in a location accessible only by aircraft. The expedition’s researchers are exploring the region in the hope of learning about events that must have taken place there millions of years ago.

Nothing good can come of this — only madness and death. Haven’t any of these scientists ever read H.P. Lovecraft’s “At the Mountains of Madness”?

I am forced into speech because men of science have refused to follow my advice without knowing why. It is altogether against my will that I tell my reasons for opposing this contemplated invasion of the antarctic – with its vast fossil hunt and its wholesale boring and melting of the ancient ice caps. And I am the more reluctant because my warning may be in vain.

