I can’t resist noting the typo in the fi…

I can’t resist noting the typo in the first paragraph of that WRAL story, which says the state is trying to “fill a projected $4.6 budget gap.” Heck, I’ll spot them the fiver if that will solve the problem.

More seriously: I can’t bring myself to wade into the comments, but I wonder whether anyone has pointed out how much money could be saved by truncating the school year by about two weeks. From what I see, once EOGs are over all attempts at education stop. Laura spent the last several weeks of the school year attending parties, watching movies, and going out for recess three times per day. Imagine all of the money spent on salaries, utilities, and bus fuel, all (apparently) for no purpose but to satisfy a mandated 180-day school year requirement.

