I don’t do much text messaging, but when…

I don’t do much text messaging, but when I have used it, it has generally been in situations where asynchronous communication is exactly what I want. It’s good for sending someone a bit of information (or asking a question) without being an interruption, and without necessarily expecting an immediate response. I agree: using text messaging to carry on an interactive conversation strikes me as dumb (and incredibly inefficient), and I’ve never quite understood why people use it that way.

I do wonder, though, whether privacy is a factor. If you’re having a telephone conversation in the car, everyone else in the car can hear everything you’re saying. Texting is more like passing someone a note in class, which makes me wonder if it’s the preferred medium for gossip.

