I’ve always rather liked the idea of mak…

I’ve always rather liked the idea of making e-mail non-free, but I was looking at it from the perspective of the sender: associating a cost with sending e-mail will reduce the amount that gets sent. (This idea has been proposed as a remedy for spam, and one that I think makes a lot of sense. A trivial per-note cost wouldn’t bother most of us, but it would put spammers out of business.)

You propose an interesting twist, where the amount you pay to send a note is proportional to its importance (to you, anyway). It would be fascinating to see how such an economy would affect the mix of e-mail one receives; but I’m not sure whether it would be good or bad. After all, the sender’s sense of what is important is often not the same as mine.

Oh, and I think sense 3 of exemplary is what was meant: “serving as an example, instance, or illustration.” A correct usage, if not the one normally employed nowadays.

