Bob, your blog post about country and western music (the only two kindsa real music) mentions, in passing, Darius Rucker, formerly of Hootie and the Blowfish.

Rucker’s is a name that instantly rings a bell with me, but not for any of his album work, but instead for his one-minute jingle for Burger King:

Of course, the melody is that of the eternally catchy “Big Rock Candy Mountain“. (As an aside, during high school, I shared a bathroom with my sister, and we both used the stereo to play music while we did our morning cleanings. The CDs that got the most play were the ones we both loved — you didn’t have to change it every day! We must have started our day to the O Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack, of which “Big Rock Candy Mountain” was the second track at least a hundred times.)

I’m not sure if it’s a credit to Rucker that the first thing I think of associated with him is that video, but I have to admit, gratuitous double entendres aside, it remains a darn catchy commercial.

