Because my parents drive a Prius, this a…

Because my parents drive a Prius, this article at Autoblog Green concerns me: Toyota to repair 650,000 Prius models globally over coolant risk

Key quote: “According to Reuters, a glitch in the vehicle’s coolant pump could cause the vehicle to overheat and lose power, though no accidents or injuries have been reported in association with the problem to date.” I am not reassured. Any fan of Star Trek: The Next Generation knows that a coolant leak means a warp core breach is imminent. Such an event is not survivable unless you immediately eject the warp core or initiate emergency saucer separation. As far as I know, the Prius is not capable of doing either of these things.

For the record: I do not wish to be orphaned by a matter/antimatter explosion.

