I recall a conversation we had a while…

I recall a conversation we had a while back where I was speculating about the possibility that Kindle books could be updated with corrections or revisions after purchase. I didn’t know whether Amazon ever did such a thing, but I knew of at least one example where it was needed: the Kindle version of The Lord Of The Rings, which I bought a few years ago, has some annoying textual glitches (presumably artifacts of file conversion).

I was surprised and delighted today to find a note from Amazon in my inbox:

We’re writing about your past Kindle purchase of The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. The version you received had missing content and typos that have been corrected.

An updated version of The Lord of the Rings (ASIN:B0026REBFK) is now available. It’s important to note that when we send you the updated version, you will no longer be able to view any highlights, bookmarks, and notes made in your current version and your furthest reading location will be lost.

The note goes on to provide instructions on how to receive the update, which it promises I’ll receive within two hours.

My print edition of LotR, which I bought in 1995, is still on the shelf, and as far as I can tell it still contains all the errors it was printed with. E-books win again.

